Tag: FellsPoint

Fells Point Main Street Celebrates Black History Month

Billie Holiday Mural

February is Black History Month, when our nation celebrates the contributions of Black Americans to our history, culture & society. Few cities in America can match the rich African-American heritage that Baltimore is blessed with. As one of the oldest parts of the city and an important port, Greater Fell’s Point has also endowed this legacy. Billie Holiday lived here on S. Durham Street and is celebrated with some of Baltimore’s renowned murals on the 200 block where she resided. The distinguished abolitionist and author Frederick Douglass worked in our shipyards as a slave, escaped to freedom and returned here and constructed rental housing for former slaves after the Civil War. A plaque commemorating him can be found at his former residence at 524 S. Dallas Street. Fell’s Point also celebrates the legacy of Isaac Myers who was the first African American to own a shipyard.

Betwixt the Billie Holiday Murals in the Northeast and the Frederick Douglass-Isaac Myers Maritime Park & Museum in the southwest there are several Black-owned businesses to patronize and eat at while you reflect upon the legacy of these great Americans.

RETAIL

Angel Park- 1707 Aliceanna Street. angel-park-boutique

Katwalk Boutique- 1709 Aliceanna Street. www.thekatwalkboutique.com

London Couture Boutique- 1716 Fleet Street. https://www.londoncoutureboutique.com

MAJA- 1921 Fleet Street. http://majacollections.com

SERVICES

Connie’s Chicken & Waffles- Broadway Market. www.connieschickenandwaffles.com

Ekiben- 1623 Eastern Avenue. http://www.ekibenbaltimore.com

Taharka Brothers- Broadway Market. http://www.taharkabrothers.com

Scrub Nail Boutique- 722 S. Broadway, #200. http://www.scrubnailboutique.com (Appointment only)

Frederick Douglass – Isaac Myers Maritime Park & Museum- 1417 Thames Street. frederick-douglass-isaac-myers-maritime-park

Frederick Douglass Bronze Bust

Dining is Back in Fell’s Point!

As of Friday, January 22nd Dinner & Drinks are returning to bars & restaurants in Baltimore, and that means Fell’s Point is open for Dining again. Please follow the rules: wear a mask when not seated at your table, stay for one hour, and keep your social distance. Reconnect with your old friends who have been eagerly awaiting your return.

Abbey Burger http://www.abbeyburgerfellspoint.com/

Alexander’s Tavern http://www.alexanderstavern.com

Barcocina (Wednesday-Sunday)   http://www.barcocina.com

Blarney Stone http://blarney-stone-pub-baltimore.edan.io/

Brick Oven Pizza (BOP) http://www.boppizza.com

Cat’s Eye Pub (Thursday-Sunday) http://catseyepub.com

Dogwatch Tavern http://dogwatchtavern.com

Duck Duck Goose https://ddgbaltimore.com

Fell’s Point Tavern http://fellspointtavern.com

Kooper’s Tavern http://www.kooperstavern.com

Lil’ Phil’s http://www.lilphils.com

Max’s Taphouse (Outdoors) http://www.maxs.com

One-Eyed Mike’s http://www.oneeyedmikes.com

Papi’s http://www.papistacosfells.com

Recreation Pier Chop House (Sagamore Pendry) http://www.recpierchophouse.com

Rye http://ryebaltimore.com

Sajoma Restaurant, 1708 Fleet Street

Slainte Irish Pub & Restaurant http://www.slaintepub.com

Stuggy’s http://www.stuggys.com

The Admiral’s Cup http://theadmiralscup.com

The Point (Friday-Monday) http://www.thepointinfells.com

The Rockwell (Weekends only) http://www.therockwellbaltimore.com

Todd Conners http://toddconners.com

Twist https://twistfellspoint.com

V-No http://v-no.com

Waterfront Hotel http://www.waterfronthotel.us